Does State of New York sponsor H-1B?
- EIN
- 14-6013200
Yes. State of New York filed H-1B LCAs covering 117 positions in fiscal year 2026.
State of New York filed E-3 LCAs covering 1 position in fiscal year 2024.
ICE employer reports show F-1 student hires at State of New York in 2019:
- OPT Students
- 114
- STEM OPT Students
- 1
Agencies and Campuses
Separate agencies, campuses, and offices file under the one payroll tax ID that State of New York uses. The totals above combine all of them. Each row below covers every fiscal year in the data.
| Agency | LCA filings | Positions | Median salary |
|---|---|---|---|
| University at Buffalo | 328 | 331 | $82,772 |
| Binghamton University | 233 | 233 | $85,000 |
| Stony Brook University | 225 | 225 | $92,000 |
| University at Albany | 100 | 101 | $80,000 |
| SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University | 66 | 66 | $82,790 |
| SUNY Oneonta | 52 | 52 | $62,200 |
| SUNY Polytechnic Institute | 50 | 50 | $85,000 |
| New York State Office of Mental Health | 48 | 48 | $114,367 |
| SUNY New Paltz | 32 | 32 | $70,500 |
| SUNY Oswego | 30 | 30 | $71,471 |
| State University of New York (campus not stated) | 27 | 27 | $88,438 |
| SUNY Cortland | 27 | 27 | $63,005 |
| SUNY Brockport | 26 | 26 | $89,000 |
| Buffalo State University | 25 | 25 | $72,378 |
| SUNY Geneseo | 19 | 19 | $64,480 |
| SUNY Canton | 18 | 18 | $70,000 |
| SUNY Plattsburgh | 18 | 18 | $94,500 |
| SUNY Fredonia | 16 | 16 | $70,361 |
| SUNY Potsdam | 16 | 16 | $55,107 |
| SUNY Maritime College | 11 | 11 | $85,000 |
| State of New York (agency not stated) | 10 | 10 | $82,016 |
| SUNY College of Optometry | 10 | 10 | $107,213 |
| SUNY Cobleskill | 6 | 6 | $53,500 |
| SUNY Morrisville | 6 | 6 | $62,412 |
| SUNY Empire State University | 5 | 5 | $69,357 |
| SUNY Purchase College | 5 | 5 | $62,526 |
| State University of New York System Administration | 4 | 4 | $82,082 |
| SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry | 4 | 4 | $84,390 |
| New York State Office of Information Technology Services | 3 | 3 | $96,336 |
| New York State Department of Health | 2 | 2 | $117,166 |
| New York State Office of Indigent Legal Services | 2 | 2 | $78,190 |
| SUNY Old Westbury | 2 | 2 | $128,900 |
| New York State Legislative Bill Drafting Commission | 1 | 1 | $95,000 |
Osito groups the employer names as filed with the US Department of Labor. Spelling variants of one agency are combined, and a name that has not been grouped yet appears exactly as it was filed.
Hiring Trends
H-1B Salary Data
| Visa type | New Hires | Min | P25 | Median salary | P75 | Max |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| H-1B | 46 | $52,000 | $75,000 | $90,151 | $118,250 | $161,476 |
Job Titles
| Job Title Filed↕ | SOC↕ | Positions↓ | Median↕ | Mean↕ |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Assistant Professor | 25-1071.00 · Health Specialties Teachers, Postsecondary | 5 | $140k | $126k |
| Assistant Professor | 25-1022.00 · Mathematical Science Teachers, Postsecondary | 4 | $84k | $84k |
| Assistant Professor | 25-1021.00 · Computer Science Teachers, Postsecondary | 4 | $126k | $125k |
| Assistant Professor - Physical Education | 25-1193.00 · Recreation and Fitness Studies Teachers, Postsecondary | 3 | $65k | $65k |
| Assistant Professor | 25-1011.00 · Business Teachers, Postsecondary | 3 | $105k | $121k |
| ASSISTANT PROFESSOR | 25-1063.00 · Economics Teachers, Postsecondary | 3 | $128k | $128k |
| ASSISTANT PROFESSOR | 25-1032.00 · Engineering Teachers, Postsecondary | 2 | $106k | $106k |
| ASSISTANT PROFESSOR | 25-1064.00 · Geography Teachers, Postsecondary | 2 | $88k | $88k |
| Lecturer | 25-1123.00 · English Language and Literature Teachers, Postsecondary | 2 | $59k | $59k |
| LECTURER | 25-1112.00 · Law Teachers, Postsecondary | 2 | $75k | $75k |
1–10 / 88
H-1B Filings
Work Locations
| City | State | LCA filings |
|---|---|---|
| Stony Brook | NY | 22 |
| Albany | NY | 16 |
| BUFFALO | NY | 13 |
| BINGHAMTON | NY | 10 |
| Cortland | NY | 7 |
| Brooklyn | NY | 6 |
| Brockport | NY | 6 |
| Buffalo | NY | 5 |
| Utica | NY | 5 |
| Binghamton | NY | 4 |
1–10 / 22
F-1 Hiring
| Year | OPT Students | STEM OPT Students | CPT Students |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | 171 | 2 | -- |
| 2018 | 171 | 1 | -- |
| 2019 | 114 | 1 | -- |
OPT, STEM OPT, and CPT figures come from ICE's annual employer report, which is not published every year, so some years may be blank.
Data Sources
- The Department of Labor releases LCA disclosure data quarterly. Figures on this page reflect filings through FY2026 Q2.
- ICE provides OPT, STEM OPT, and CPT employer data once a year, and not every year has been released. The most recent report covers 2024.